AffecTech logo

Members of AffecTech’s academic leadership team received notable awards in 2019

• Prof. Corina Sas was awarded the Digital Female Leader Award for Science from Global Digital Women
• Prof. Marta Kwiatkowska was awarded the top award in computing in the UK, the BCS Lovelace Medal
• Prof. Cristina Botella was awarded First Edition of the Woman of the Mediterranean Prize of Castellón
• Dr. Gavin Doherty was elected as ACM Distinguished Member

Corina Sas – 2019 Digital Female Leader Award for Science

AffecTech project leader Professor Corina Sas, of Lancaster University, was awarded the Digital Female Leader Award for Science from Global Digital Women. The award recognises Corina’s research in Human-Computer Interaction and in particular, it highlights the work on the AffecTech Innovative Training Network that she leads, advancing personalised technologies for affective health (mental health). More information here.

Corina received her award Digital Female Leader Award in the category of ‘Science’ at the Digital Female Leader Awards 2019, which was held at Deutsche Telekom’s Headquarters in Bonn, Germany. The awards honour pioneering women in digital fields and attracted more than 700 applicants from 19 countries across all the categories.

This achievement followed Corina’s success in the Lancaster University’s Staff Award in 2019, receiving the award for Outstanding Contribution, in recognition of her dedication and commitment to research excellence, enhancement of student experience, and exemplary leadership.

Marta Kwiatkowska – Recipient of the 2019 BCS Lovelace Medal

Professor Marta Kwiatkowska, who is AffecTech’s lead academic at the Department of Computer Science, Trinity College, Oxford, was the recipient of the 2019 British Computer Society (BCS), Lovelace Medal. This is the leading computing award in the UK, awarded by the BCS – The Chartered Institute for IT. The award is presented annually to individuals who, in the opinion of BCS Academy Awards Committee, have made a significant contribution to the advancement of Information Systems. Professor Kwiatkowska has been recognised for her major contributions to probabilistic and quantitative verification.

As recipient of this award, Marta will present the prestigious Lovelace lecture on 24th March 2020 at the Royal Society. More information here. In 2019 Professor Kwiatkowska was elected Fellow of the Royal Society, a decision citing her “pioneering and highly influential contributions to the principles of probabilistic model checking” and leading “the development of the internationally leading probabilistic model checker PRISM”.

Established in 1998, the Lovelace Medal is awarded for outstanding contribution to the understanding and advancement of computing. Previous winners include worldwide web inventor Sir Tim Berners-Lee, Linux creator Linus Torvalds, and information retrieval pioneer Karen Spärck Jones

Cristina Botella – Woman of the Mediterranean Prize of Castellón

Prof Cristina Botella, Professor of Psychology, at the Universitat Jaume, Spain was awarded First Edition of the Woman of the Mediterranean Prize of Castellón, organised by the Mediterranean Newspaper and Banco Sabadell.

The inaugral Women of the Mediterranean Award, celebrates the achievements of pioneering and exceptional women in their specialist fields. Botella, leader of the AffecTech project at the Universitat Jaume I, received the First Edition of the Woman of the Mediterranean Prize of Castellón in 2019 at an awards ceremony at the hotel Jaime I.

Throughout her acceptance speech, Botella, who leads the AffecTech research team there, recalled she was the first female professor at the university and that throughout the years she has had the maximum objective of “joining forces through applied technology to achieve greater welfare of people”, whether with virtual or augmented reality, internet or mobile devices. More information here.

Gavin Doherty – Distinguished Member of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM)

In 2019, Gavin Doherty received the honour of being named a Distinguished Member of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM), the prestigious global association of computing professionals. Dr Gavin Doherty was elected in 2019 as ACM Distinguished Member that recognises those ACM members with at least 15 years of professional experience and 5 years of continuous Professional MembGavinDership who have achieved significant accomplishments or have made a significant impact on the computing field.

Gavin, AffecTech academic leader at Trinity College Dublin, received the recognition for “Outstanding Scientific Contributions to Computing,” and was one of only five European researchers included in 2019’s honours. As well as making a significant impact in their technical field, Distinguished Members are recognised for their mentorship and impact as role models. More information here.


The AffecTech project is an international collaborative network that advances personal health technologies for affective disorders – depression, anxiety and bipolar, and aims to deliver an effective low cost technology platform to help sufferers. It is coordinated at Lancaster University, and brings together teams from 11 leading research institutions across Europe. For more information on AffecTech visit our home page, for more info on the project’s scientific and leadership team, visit our partners page.

Images above:

Corina Sas receiving her Digital Female leader award from Yvonne Quint, a Partner from BearingPoint, which is the sponsor of the Science category. Image courtesy of Jörg Heupel.

Professor Marta Kwiatkowska

Dr Gavin Doherty

Cristina Botella, during her acceptance speech at the Woman of the Mediterranean Prize 2019 at the hotel Jaime I.